Evolution, Your Thoughts

Options
The Douce
The Douce Members Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭
edited January 2010 in The Social Lounge
My lecturer started on evolution yesterday, and considering im studying Biology, I was surprised by how many folks in my class opposed the "theory" of evolution, whether it be because of religious beliefs or something else. I just couldnt believe how many people who are willingly studying science refused to accept evolution..

Whats your take on this subject?

Comments

• bless the child
    bless the child Members Posts: 5,167 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited January 2010
    Options
    Ignorance is bliss...
  • perspective@100
    perspective@100 Members Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭✭
    edited January 2010
    Options
    Humans are just like Viruses... We don't evolve, we mutate.
  • The Jackal
    The Jackal Members Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭
    edited January 2010
    Options
    They plan to be science major and refuse to believe in scientific dfata?
  • perspective@100
    perspective@100 Members Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭✭
    edited January 2010
    Options
    The Irony sounds about right... Hey the Earth was thought to be flat... It had edges you could fall off of... People who had disorders were burned... perspectives change and they just look rediculous down the line...
  • alissowack
    alissowack Members Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭
    edited January 2010
    Options
    There are religious overtones involve but I think you don't need to see it from that point of view. There are people who are against evolution and they have no religious (or to be specific, Christian) influences for reasons I am not qualified to answer. I've heard David Berlinski's take on evolution and though convincing the argument is in opposing evolution, it doesn't make me go, "Chalk one up for the good guys". If there are flaws in this theory, then why hasn't science been able to objectively come to that conclusion?
  • whar67
    whar67 Members Posts: 542
    edited January 2010
    Options