This economy is HORRIBLE.....I'm thinking of joining the Army Reserves....

Options
kingblaze84
kingblaze84 Members Posts: 14,288 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited June 2010 in The Social Lounge
I graduated from Hunter College this month with a Bachelors in Political Science, and while I've only started applying for high level jobs for less than a month, I am fast getting impatient with how slow the job offers are coming in. I've sent at least 30 resumes so far, but all I am getting in return for sending them is spam mail and silence. My wish is to be a paralegal or something along those lines, but because I have less than a year experience with office work (as a messenger), it's hard for employers to take me seriously.

So I am thinking of joining the Army Reserves, hoping I don't get sent overseas.My hope is that with the Army Reserves, I can get some kind of enlistment bonus that can help me pay for my armed guard training, which can help me make much more than the average paralegal. Does anyone here know anyone in the army reserves? Is anyone here in it? I can go to army.gov but I would rather hear first hand information from people that know EXACTLY what the army reserves is like.

Any info would be much appreciated (or job offers lol).

Comments

• ThaChozenWun
    ThaChozenWun Members Posts: 9,390
    edited June 2010
    Options
    If your afraid of going to war and dont want to, I suggest you dont join. If you do sign on and end up getting called up saying no to them will likely send you to prison and will definitely get your dishonorably discharged, both which will ? any future hope of a nice job up. I know a good bit of people who are in the military, the airforce, marines, and army. If you do need to enlist though because finacially you need that help go to the airforce.
  • Swiffness!
    Swiffness! Members Posts: 10,128 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 2010
    Options
    So I am thinking of joining the Army Reserves, hoping I don't get sent overseas.