Options

Comments

• ATTS
    ATTS Members Posts: 6,663 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2012
    Options
    kai_valya wrote: »
    @ATTS, somethings they do in canada that works:

-education has to be a priority in every way, including how much money you spend on it.

-require rigorous training for teachers

-have a standardized curriculum, meaning every grade level is being taught the same things

-schools should get their funding based on how many children attend the school, not from property taxes and stuff. therefore a school isn't horrible if it's in a low tax neighbourhood

i am not an expert in this field, but these are some things i've observed

Thanks.....will have to research some of this b/c I also have to compare it to the international system...i aint even think how our neighbour is doing with their educational....I knew the IC would come in handy......
  • kzzl
    kzzl Members Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Education is a business. All the good stuff they want to make you pay for. Meanwhile, the basic ? is recycled for 12 years.
  • J-GUTTA
    J-GUTTA Members Posts: 9,107 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Not only are the kids dumb a lot of these grown ups are too. You ever see Skits similar to the Jay Leno's Jay Walking those people need to be embarrassed.
  • FucktheIC
    FucktheIC Members Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    ATTS wrote:
    I am doing a paper for my graduate school on the american education system....and for the paper I get to visit class rooms from kindergateen to 12th grade .....
    and let me just say I am NOT impressed with the teachers and the school system....like in the 4th grade.....this ? barely knew the multiplication table....
    They are sooooo focused on this smart phone ? its insane....I visited the 8th grade today (an history class)...smh....how da ? do you NOT know who mussolini is but you can quote me a drake lyric? We gots to do better.......
    I go to a 9th grade class tomorrow.....