Everything you needed to know about AIDS + answering why Magic Johnson has lived this long

Options
sully
sully Members, Writer Posts: 4,955 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited January 2013 in For The Grown & Sexy
Okay...my bad on not responding earlier to the ? thread in the Social Lounge...been in a bit of panic mode the last couple days with my studying, so i was hesitent to spend time typing out a long, thought-out answer to the questions posed there....

BTW, this is going to be long, but informative. But i'm gonna try and explain as much as I can, b/c i'm gonna be technical, but also detailed, so anyone who cares to read this, will understand it better, and understand why ? does what it does.

If you don't care about what all the ? I write, i don't really give a ? . Typing this all out also helps me commit this info to memory, b/c, let's be honest, i'm not a medical professional yet; I'm still studying to be one. And I don't know everything about AIDS or ? and stuff, but i'm gonna explain as much as I can.

Now, before I proceed, if you have preconceived notions about ? that don't match up with what I say here, then allow me to stick my ? in your ear, and ? what ya heard!

First, a little clarity on AIDS vs. ? .
? is the virus that you get, AIDS is when your body's T-cell count drops below 200. At the point at which your T-cell count is lower than 200, you are officially diagnosed with AIDS (Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome). This is acquired sexually via body fluids.

Now, before I go on,...

"What is a T-Cell?"

T-cells are cells in your body that make up what is called your "cellular immunity".

Now, there are two kinds of T-cells, CD8+ T-cells, and CD4+ T-cells.

T-cells are made in your bone marrow, and moved out to your thymus, where they are differentiated and given their specific functions