Is China Starting To Impose Their Form Of Democracy in Africa?

Options
anthony7q
anthony7q Members Posts: 782
edited September 2010 in The Social Lounge
Definitions of Pro-democracy on the Web:

* Pro-democracy camp, pan-democracy camp or pan-democrats (Chinese: 泛民主派, 民主派 or 泛民) are terms frequently used by Chinese state-run media and pro-establishment academics to refer to the politicians and social activists in Hong Kong. ...

http://newzimsituation.com/swaziland-protesters-threatened-with-torture-89591.htm

Swaziland protesters threatened with torture

Swaziland has threatened pro-democracy activists with torture as tensions in sub-Saharan Africa's last absolute monarchy continue to grow. The warning that sipakatane -- beating the feet with spikes -- would be used against protesters was condemned by trade unions in the country after a week which saw 50 protesters arrested and several foreigners roughly treated and deported. Sipakatane, also known as ? , involves using metal or wooden spikes to beat someone's bare feet repeatedly, leaving them bleeding and potentially unable

I came across the story on globalgrind.com..Swaziland's King Has A Freaky ? Don't understand why they used that headline. He's not getting off on mutilating people's feet.

"Each person should mind the politics of his own country and not come here to meddle in our affairs, especially if that country has a lot of its own problems,"King Mswati III of Swaziland told the Times of Swaziland newspaper.

x160.jpg

Comments

• anthony7q
    anthony7q Members Posts: 782
    edited September 2010
    Options
    http://www.cmi.no/research/project/?1273=transition-to-what

Transition to what? African liberation- and pro-democracy movements' troubled democratic heritage