Nas defends Tarantino about using the word "? in Django

Options
1235»

Comments

• ImTheKangRoundHere
    ImTheKangRoundHere Members Posts: 4,649 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    the movie sold over 139 million dollars just alone in america.so i guess QT got away with it
  • Pyrexcup
    Pyrexcup Members Posts: 358
    Options
    nas dont bust his guns
  • jono
    jono Members Posts: 30,280 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Well another "backpacker", "militant", "conscious" MC also doesn't mind the flick
    ....Talib Kweli:
    Although Kweli fully embraced the new flick, he did understand director Spike Lee's issues with it.

"I liked it a lot, it was thorougly, thoroughly entertaining," Kweli said in an interview referring to Tarantino's latest flick. "[Offended by it?] Nah. I'm a fan of Quentin Tarantino. I'm a student of his films. I know what I'ma get when I go see his films. Slavery was the real backdrop of the story and I think that's where the real debate lies. Slavery should be the backdrop, whether or not you should use the Spaghetti Western format to tell the story that involves slavery but once you get past that argument, it was a great story. It wasn't no Pulp Fiction, but it was real good. ... I don't think [the N-word usage] was an issue with Django Unchained. Clearly it is of the time, clearly the N-word was a word that was used way more times than a hundred times. ... The word 'N*gga' in the movie Django Unchained was perfect -- when you're having arguments and people are weighing in on social networks, what the actual argument is gets lost. Spike Lee, even though he's had problems in the past with Quentin using the word 'N*gga' in his films, in Reservoir Dogs, in Pulp Fiction, that was never his issue with this film. He never said, 'My issue is...' People assumed that was his issue. His issue was, 'Slavery was, to my ancestors, such an important topic that if you're going to make a film about it, it needs to be treated as serious subject matter." (Hot 97)