What is the best way to find a new job?

Options

Comments

• SimplyKrys
    SimplyKrys Members Posts: 763 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Well, it's been a year and two months since I graduated and I still don't have a job in my field. I really think it has a lot to do with my location. CT is not the place for someone with a journalism degree. I have been looking real hard as well. I have had a few interviews but still no luck. Any suggestions?
  • whatevathehell
    whatevathehell Members Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Max. wrote: »
    How important are Reference's on apps?

My old boss is gone...one my supervisor still works

I was thinkn about bs...n having my fam member act like a old boss...

Folks do check them but I never put any down. Many places just verify work history anyway since references can be fabricated
  • AggieLean.
    AggieLean. Guests, Members, Writer, Content Producer Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    SimplyKrys wrote: »
    Well, it's been a year and two months since I graduated and I still don't have a job in my field. I really think it has a lot to do with my location. CT is not the place for someone with a journalism degree. I have been looking real hard as well. I have had a few interviews but still no luck. Any suggestions?

Yea, you're going to have to start looking elsewhere. I assume you have a job, just not in your field. If you haven't started, then start stacking up some bread. You're probably going to have to make a big move soon. Good luck on your search, and don't get discouraged.
  • AggieLean.
    Options
    How important are Reference's on apps?

My old boss is gone...one my supervisor still works

I was thinkn about bs...n having my fam member act like a old boss...
    In my experiences, they never really called. I've only had one prospective company ever call my references. Who knows, though. If you're going to do the fam thing, then def make sure they're aware.
  • SimplyKrys
    Options
    AggieLean. wrote: »