Mental Health Thread: What's your take on Therapy and the whole psychosocial industry?

Options

Comments

• aneed123
    aneed123 Members Posts: 23,763 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    I work in the field. Mental health therapist. Growing up I didn't believe a lot of that stuff but working with that population u see it's real. Also weed triggers a lot of ?
  • BiblicalAtheist
    BiblicalAtheist Members Posts: 15,668 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    7figz wrote: »
    I don't think that ? works - for me anyway.

Talk to a MF for an hour a week, and one day you're supposed to break down in tears and have some breakthrough ?

Pay a MF to keep writin ? , looking at the time, while momentarily asking you "and why do you think that is ?" and "how did that make you feel ?"

Nah I'm cool.

I've been wondering about hypnosis too - that ? seems fake as hell.

Don't waste your money, it works but probably not for your mind. You seem unwilling to give control of your mind to someone else.

Lol, damn it's like that ?

And here I am considering myself pretty open-minded.

That's what someone said to me who had been under hypnosis, I consider myself open minded too but ain't no ? way someone is putting my conscious mind to sleep to "dig around" my mind. I did try when I was younger with those stage hypnosis guys(idk how real that ? is) but it didn't work for me and got off the stage. And unless half the people I personally knew on stage were in on it ? looked real.

Oh you must've meant the hypnosis. I thought you were saying I was beyond mental help in general. Was like damn.

Oh maybe that's cuz I read the end of your post wrong like a ? .
  • mohamed
    mohamed Members Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    aneed123 wrote: »
    I work in the field. Mental health therapist. Growing up I didn't believe a lot of that stuff but working with that population u see it's real. Also weed triggers a lot of ?

What do you mean? I thought it's suppose to chill people out?

• leftcoastkev