Mental Health Thread: What's your take on Therapy and the whole psychosocial industry?

Options
13»

Comments

• blackrain
    blackrain Members, Moderators Posts: 27,269 Regulator
    Options
    aneed123 wrote: »
    mohamed wrote: »
    I work in the field. Mental health therapist. Growing up I didn't believe a lot of that stuff but working with that population u see it's real. Also weed triggers a lot of ?

What do you mean? I thought it's suppose to chill people out?

homie il break it down. Alcohol is a depressant so it triggers a lot of suicidal bx in folk.... weed on the other end triggers paranoia... I remember growing up my homies would be high taking bout they see ? otherwords... they trippin... if ur family have a history of schizophrenia marijuana use can trigger it in u if its dormant.... ie all the stories of folk who were smart normal folk who went off to college and smoked some "bad" weed.... now they walking the street talking to themselves all crazy. add in folk self medicate to help themdeal with mental health issues.... I worked on an Act team for a min and all fo the bi polar and schizophrenics were crackheads and weed heads.

This is why the .medical marijuana industry is so important because certain strains are more likely to trigger certain reactions and if you don't know what you're smoking then you can end up with a bad high...because there's also folks who use weed as self medication to calm down those thoughts
  • blackrain
    blackrain Members, Moderators Posts: 27,269 Regulator
    Options
    i believe in therapy. when my mom passed in 08 a ? almost went crazy. I was drinking heavy and self medicating with ? . i started to distance myself from my wife and i didn't want my kids to see how bad it had gotten for me. I would be so ? and so high i would sleep in my car. my wife begged me to go to therapy. i refused like nah im not a weak ? . she basically told me that if i didn't go she would leave me.