• antarticp
    antarticp Members Posts: 8,688 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    5 Grand wrote: »
    antarticp wrote: »
    Kalecrunch wrote: »
    Sometimes I think the Older Hip Hop heads failed the younger ones in terms of schoolin them about dope rap, influences, etc. Back in the day We had credible publications and Dj's music programming, and music personality's etc that gave you a guide to what's quality and it also guided other artist for the most part.

Yeah well there was a thread last week about the hottest 80s rap albums and I'm one of the few people that contributed to it. I mean, the IC got a classics vault but they refuse to add any 80s rap albums, like as if 5 Mic classics started with The Chronic.

For me, the most humbling thing about the internet is being able to go back and find stuff that came out before my time. I grew up in the 80s but I was only a kid. I graduated in 91. But there's stuff on the internet like Ego Trip's book of rap lists that lists all the hot ? from 1979-1998. I can remember getting those mp3s on a data file and spending the next couple of months trying to make sense of all the stuff that came out in the early 80s that I didn't really remember firsthand.